Fauxgrass

Watching joy bounce before my my eyes this afternoon made me realize once again how lucky we are as teachers to witness on a daily basis pure innocent “wow!”  Today we had the opportunity to listen to a contemporary Bluegrass band at our school assembly. A quick introduction and the first song began.  “What is that instrument? ” ” A banjo, I think!”  Clapping began immediately and the kindergardeners began bouncing in their seats keeping time to the music. The first graders soon joined in and the band members grew smiles watching their audience.  Not only was I able to enjoy the music but also the happy movement surrounding me.
The pure joy of contemporary Bluegrass doesn’t happen every day, but on any given day the laughter and wide eyed exuberance we live with makes us some of the luckiest professionals alive!

About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fauxgrass

  1. margaretsmn says:

    “Pure innocent Wow!” That is the joy of being a teacher of little ones. I teach gifted, and I recently gained a first grader in my group. She has just finished her first Powerpoint presentation about Black History. The title, “Black History is Fun!.” She exclaimed this. I’ve never seen a student so excited to learn. I wish we could bottle up this enthusiasm!

  2. and you noticed the joy and special moment for all of you – signs of a SOL blogger i would say!

  3. newtreemom says:

    Really lucky! So nice to get a glimpse of a happy school day!

  4. Definitely a great moment to take joy in! The beauty of the lives of little people is they generally show their true feelings-letting them shine through in the assembly, must have been so neat to see!

Leave a Reply

