Gobsmacked

A word I enjoy reading is “gobsmacked.”  I come across this word in novels written by British and Irish authors.  I not only love how this word perfectly describes a situation, but also how it sounds like the action of being extremely  surprised.  Using a google search for the word, this is what I find:

gobsmacked [ˈgɒbˌsmækt]

adj

Brit slang astounded; astonished
 
As I mentioned, I love to read this word.  I have yet to use it.  Wouldn’t it be fun to look at the server in front  of your  table and reply, “I am totally  gobsmacked!  This is what I ordered?  It doesn’t look a bit like the picture in the menu!”  Or, maybe it would be the perfect response to your hairdresser who has decided to knock herself out on a new color or style – gobsmacked.  It could also be used with your husband when the Visa bill arrives.  ” I’m gobsmacked!  I spent that much last month on shoes?”  It might be used when the person boarding the airplane a step ahead of you launches her purse into your face as she climbs into seat 16A  – literally gobsmacked!
 
“Gobsmacked.” Not to be confused with “Everlasting Gobstoppers.”
 
About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gobsmacked

  1. Deanna H says:

    I love this post! My class has been learning about context clues. Gobsmacked and your examples of it would be perfect to use. Thanks so much for sharing. I love your wit too.

  2. I think we should start a trend of using gobsmacked at least once daily. I think I should have plenty of opportunities working with eighth graders! I’m gobsmacked by them quite often. Of course, on our Visa bill, my husband is gobsmacked by how much I spend on books!

  3. Jaana says:

    You totally made me laugh! I LOVE words! I am always showing my students words that I think they should learn because they have a fun pronunciation, or just because I like those words! I definitely have to share “gobsmacked” with them!

  4. Sarah Cline says:

    I love this word too! I agree with Kay…I say a trend is in order!

  5. Two years and finishing strong... says:

    This was hysterical…I am going to start looking for funny words. I love funny ! Thanks for the plane example. It was perfect ! xo

Leave a Reply

