March, the In Between Time

It’s Sunday evening and the rain has not quit all day.  Looking out the window I see snow melted puddles up an down the sidewalks. The dark ripples make me want to crawl back under the blanker nearby.   Winter is changing or trying to change.  Faded green is peeking through the soggy white masses left in the yard.  But, it is brighter when we rise in the morning and light until past dinnertime.  I hear birds at sunrise and the other day while out walking the dog we passed under a chittering squirrel’s nest.  I stopped to wonder at the sounds up above.  I listened more closely and realized I wasn’t the only creature yearning for spring.  I think the chittering conversation might have gone something like this…”I want to leave the nest NOW Mama.”  ” It’s almost time little one. Soon it will be warm enough to frolic and caper but it’s toasty and warm in here and the days are still short.  Cuddle up by me…just a little longer.”  It is March, the in between time.  The time between cuddle and caper.  I can feel spring returning.

About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to March, the In Between Time

  1. I love your sensory images.. chitter…cuddle, caper….I want to steal the words 🙂 xo

  2. Thinking about what the animals are feeling makes me wonder even more what they might say and do during all of the seasons! Great perspective here.

Leave a Reply

