Time to Fly

     “Mom, you have got to see this!” Teddy called.  His mom tucked in the kitchen busy shucking sweetcorn peeked around the corner and inquired. “What is it Teddy?”   “This is the coolest game!  Look what I’ve found.  It’s like this is the real cockpit of a plane.  It’s a first person game and you sit in the cockpit and fly the plane.  “Watch!”  Kate looked on as her son took flight from the kitchen stool.  Her enthusiasm for on-line gaming was a push but she had to admit, the colorful lights and countless levers did cause the cockpit to look real.  “ I REALLY wish I could fly one of these, for REAL! “ Teddy said longingly.  Kate watched as her thirteen year old punched at the keyboard leaning to and fro.  He rattled off information about the features of the fighter jet and uttered a quiet, “This is sooooo cool.”  

     It was then the idea registered in Kate’s mind.  Cautiously she ventured   

a question.  “Teddy, do you really want to be a pilot?”  As a small child Teddy had enjoyed reading serious books about DNA, the human body, and the deadliest of germs.  Kate had always pictured her son working in some field of medical research or as a pioneer in some bioengineering project.  She knew of his passion for vehicles and engines but “pilot,” this was a new concept.  “Mom, I have always wanted to fly a plane.  Don’t you remember how I used to climb things when I was little and then I’d jump just to see if I could fly?  You’d freak out and get all upset .”  These thoughts pulled at Kate’s memory.  “ I do remember being petrified that you’d break your neck,” she smiled.  Kate continued, “ Teddy, are you aware there is a new high school out at the airport with a focus on aviation? I don’t know that much about it but I ‘ve heard that the kids who graduate, finish with their pilot’s license.”  “ I can’t believe you could go to a high school and fly,” was his reply.  “I don’t think  it’s like a traditional high school but if you’re interested we could get on-line and check it out , maybe go for a visit,” Kate responded, heart pounding.  Could this be their answer, right there in their own town?  Why hadn’t she thought of the aviation academy last year when Teddy was disgruntled with school and school was even more disgruntled with Teddy?  “ Yeah, I’d go see it.  I’m not exactly a traditional kind of guy.”

                                             . . .to be continued

About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time to Fly

  1. I really like this piece and it is pretty amazing that there could be a school that is geared towards flight. My son has always yearned to fly also. I can’t wait until the next part of this story. xo

Leave a Reply

