Coffee Bliss

  I awoke  for the second morning at my hotel in the small college town of Oberlin, Ohio. It would be impossible to begin the day again with hotel , restaurant coffee. Peeking out of the rubber curtains I saw gray drizzle  Spring was poking through the ground in the form of crocus and snow drops but the sleet was a clear sign it had not yet arrived  There would be no Starbucks in Oberlin and so I would  need to proceed with a search.  I bundled up and walked out into the weather. 

     It was early on a Saturday morning and not many people were about.  I watched as two students laden with heavy backpacks entered a small restaurant down the street. I headed to the location and looked in. The menu in the window advertised many healthy options. Cappuccino made with almond milk was not what I was after. Despite my now soaked down jacket  I was not going to stop until I found my steaming cup.  I walked on to the intersection and began to smell the breakfast smells of bacon and pancakes  No restaurant in sight so turning left I began to search again. 

      Noticing the college students favorite mode of transportation locked to a sidewalk bench could be a good sign.  I ventured toward the worn handlebars and as I grew  closer the roasty molasses coffee aroma drifted forth. “Swerve Bike Shop” the sign on the shop read. I stood, puzzled breathing in the most wonderful coffee smell. Then I saw it-a tiny sign reading “Coffee.”  An arrow pointed downward.  My heart lifted as I headed down the stairs. 

      Ah! Comfortably worn dark wooden tables in an assortment of sizes with modern aluminum chairs sat waiting for coffee lovers. I know I ordered my Cappuccino with a huge smile and even splurged on a bagel with cream cheese in honor of my coffee find. I unwrapped myself out of wet clothing and sat down with my hot drink. My bagel arrived wrapped in foil just as  the bagels I’d enjoyed in New York last summer. I opened my book. Bliss!

 
About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coffee Bliss

  1. newtreemom says:

    I could feel your contentment as you sat and opened your book.

  2. Wilcox Carol says:

    What a coffee warrior you are! So glad your search (in the rain) was rewarded!

  3. I love discovering new places and coffee spots. I’m glad you searched until you found it. Love that it was cozy enough to read your book, too. xo

Leave a Reply

