Ready to Introduce…

       If you are like me, this is the speaker you have been waiting for all year.  I was so excited when Martha asked me to introduce Penny Kittle and after I agreed I spent time thinking about what I would say.  I went to her website and read just about everything that was there and if you have not visited you will want to do so.  

     I asked my husband what he thought was the best way to introduce a guest speaker.  His advice was to make it quick and not to repeat everything that was on her website because he said, she will be tired of hearing the same thing each time she presents.  I disagreed with him.  “There is  no way you could be tired of hearing you co-authored a book with Donald Grave or that you just published your fifth book titled, Book Love which is about building stamina and passion with adolescent readers.

     I talked with my 17 year old daughter and she advised watching some you tube videos of famous people being introduced or find  video of the Oscars and see how they present people. Good idea.

     I thought I would run it by my 14 year old son.  I asked Teddy, “How do you think a professional speaker should be introduced?”  Is she famous?  Is she like the J.K. Rowling of teaching?  I said, “Yes, quite a bit.”  He then told me everything should be on her website.

     What I finally decided to share is a beautiful quote of Penny’s that I saw on Twitter.

 

   “Teaching is heart work.  It takes all we have, but every day is 

                                 an opportunity.  It gives more than it takes from me.”

     

 Penny Kittle we are so happy to learn from you and to hear you share your

“heart work.”

About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ready to Introduce…

  1. Absolutely perfect! What an honor…love…love. Please share more. xo

Leave a Reply

