The smell of garlic and onions always brings my family to the kitchen.  It makes me smile as this is an  early stage to whatever I am preparing.  It always draws them in.   Tonight it was a  spaghetti sauce  for manicotti  and a batch of meatballs for a later date.  it’s a Saturday event to cook something everyone enjoys.  One at a time family members take turns wandering in and out of the kitchen, dipping a finger, or bending to inhale the steaming fragrance.  The sauce simmers and everyone stops by the kitchen to inquire as to when dinner will be.  I chop and stir and check the recipe for spices.  Fresh basil tonight instead of parsley.  I love when the stores offer the little basil plants each spring.  This I add and stir some more.  I stuff the shells and into the oven they go to bake.  I pour a glass of wine and sip while I prepare a salad.  There’s plenty of time to make my own dressing.  It’s Saturday.  I set the table and swallow the last of my wine.   The timer interrupts and I check the oven.  Manicotti bubbles and oozes cheesy filling.  We sit down and fill our plates and eagerly dip in.  The compliments begin immediately.  “Mom, this is so good.”  ” What did you do different this time?” I hear from my husband.  ” This is really good tonight.”  ” Is there more in the pan, Mom?”   It’s all worth the time I spent in preparation, from the shopping to the simmering.  Happy. Content.   Satisfied.  Glorious Saturday.

 

About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Yummy! It sounds delicious. I love making soup on Sunday afternoons. The smells fill the whole house.

Leave a Reply

