Pajama Day

     What is there about young children in pajamas that makes them so endearing?  I watched as my students bounced into the classroom, flanneled, robed, and slippered.  They looked so much smaller and even my most impish of friends looked quite innocent decked out in their night wear.  The pajamas ranged from pink polka dots to Sponge Bob.  Some slippers flip flopped and others scuffed about preparing to start the day.  I listened to the children commenting on each others attire.  A joyful buzz spread about the room.  Book boxes were located, calendars checked, and lunches ordered.  We settled into our morning and it was soon time for a snuggly story.  Robes and slippers gathered before the rocking chair.   As we cuddled cozy together I looked out over my angelic first graders and began to read,  Ira Sleeps Over.

About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pajama Day

  1. Ramona says:

    I love this snapshot of your students and pajama day. I even love to see my middle schoolers in pajamas. Joyful buzz, snuggly story – what a wonderful morning!

  2. It sounds like a fun way to spend your day! It is fun to see children in their pjs!

Leave a Reply

