Who Doesn’t Love Mud?

     “We will be having outdoor recess this morning boys and girls but please use your best judgement regarding the mud on the playground,” our principal announced over the intercom.  I peered out the window.  Dirty remnants of snow surrounded the play structure  and puddles made up most of the area which as soon as spring arrived would soon be wood chips.  Preparing for recess duty I bundled into my down coat and donned my official fluorescent yellow vest.  I wished I had fluorescent yellow rubber boots to match for any rescues I might be required to make.  I entered the playground with my usually entourage of hand holders and ventured toward the mud lovers.  Kindergarteners were stirring puddles of soup and digging on hands and knees any bits of dirty snow they could reach.  Older children charged about the puddles daring one another to jump over them.  Splash!  Lots of giggles.  LOTS of wet.  I turned toward the slide and noticed a puddle at the bottom.  No wonder there was such a long line waiting to slide.  The crowd waiting at the bottom bent to look up the tube, screaming as feet landed  with a splash, and then bent to look again.  There is a lot of wet that can happen in fifteen minutes.  No one complained about their soaking socks and pants until the bell rang.  The dripping line moved  back into the school with dreams of lunch recess and . . .splash….!

About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who Doesn’t Love Mud?

  1. It’s funny how kids gravitate towards mud, puddles, splishing and splashing! My own 2yr old daughter did the same -stepping into a pile of snow and loving the nearby puddles…
    I am like you, wish I had boots to wear in case of rescues!

Leave a Reply

