“On the Same Day in March. . .”

Modified copy of IMG_3433

Today I read aloud the book, On the Same Day in March by Marilyn Singer.  My third graders wrote their own page to add to the book and here’s mine:

On the same day in March . . .

In Grand Rapids Michigan

A teacher wakes up and checks the “school closings” list on a local T.V. channel-

and gets ready for work.

At school, she checks the lost and found for her new hat.  No luck.

Recess time comes and she walks out into the drizzle and hail.

Some students huddle under the play structure while others run around collecting hail in their hats.

The teacher smiles a wet smile. ” It’s good to get out and play after days of indoor recess,” she thinks.  “Spring must be just around the corner.”

About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “On the Same Day in March. . .”

  1. elsie says:

    I love that book and your response. I may have to use that when I run out of ideas this month.

  2. Ramona says:

    Hi friend, had to stop by, requesting the book now. It’s a new one for me. Putting this post in my idea file.

Leave a Reply

