Spring Catalog Shopping in March

IMG_3414

Spring catalogs are arriving daily now like a flourish of going away presents for winter.  I reached into my snow covered mailbox today and pulled out yet another beautiful warm booklet, colored in pinks and oranges and yellows.  I don’t know what comes over me but I am driven to find something inside to wear that will fit, that can make me feel as sunny and good as the colors on that  front cover.

Inside there are beaches and women with tan legs.  They visit cafes and have coffees in their perfect attire with clever hats perched on their heads.  It’s not just the zen green jacket priced at $152.00 that I crave,  I’d like to be shopping with them at that farmer’s market, picking out a lively bouquet, or dashing off  in that flirty little dress to buy plates.

Achhh!  It’s March in Michigan and I slide open my drawers in the morning to choose either the steel gray sweater, the pale gray cardigan or the dark gray tunic.  I open my closet to choose a black skirt, black leggings, or black jeans.  What was I thinking when I bought all of this black and gray last fall?!   I wonder do people living in California wake up with these feelings in March?

I yearn for soft blues and greens and prints!  Ohhhh! To be able to walk outdoors in one of those “Draped Daytripper Trench” coats on page 2 or the “Chambray Anorak” casually unbuttoned on page 24.  The names of each item are just as enticing as the colors, “Paradise Shorts,” and “Moonsong Dress.”’

There!  On page 26!  It’s just what I need to help me get through thick cloudy gray days, dirty snow piles, and SLUSH!  The “Tiled Azure Scarf!”   Wrapped around my pale and dark gray sweaters, swirling softly about my neck, trailing out behind my winter gray…. might just get me through March.

About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Catalog Shopping in March

  1. Ramona says:

    Loved going catalog shopping with you! Wrapped around, twirling softly, trailing behind…the perfect antidote to winter blues – the tiled azure scarf! You captured me with those descriptive words about the scarf!

  2. Irene Latham says:

    A scarf to get you through March. Perfect! I am loving “moonsong dress.” Yes, please! xo

Leave a Reply

