The Gift of a Dead Rose- Attempt to Turn a Quick Write into a Poem

IMG_3389 (1)I loved Betsy Hubbard’s idea today of taking a quick write and turning it into a poem and so I gave it a try.  Here is my work:

I was so surprised when Owen arrived at our classroom door and handed me a a rose— a dead rose with a bent stem.  Curled brown edges tightly sealed the beauty it once held.  Now I love to receive flowers of any kind and over the years I have received sticky dandelion bouquets, tulips and daffodils snatched on the way to school, and even a few against- the -rules sprigs of lilacs from the playground.  I cannot recall ever receiving a dead flower.  Owen explained, “It’s dead and a little bent.  I got it from my performance at civic theater last night  I wanted you to have it.”  In minutes, it became the sweetest, most thoughtful, flower I think I’ve ever received.  I kept it in a vase all week.

 

Here is the poem it became:

The Gift: A Dead Rose

He handed me a rose.

–a dead rose

with a bent stem.

Curled brown edges tightly sealed

the beauty it once held.

I have been honored with–

sticky dandelion bouquets,

tulips snatched on the way to school,

against-the-rules

sprigs of Lilacs from the playground.

–Never a dead rose.

“It’s dead and a little bent,” he said.

“I got it from my performance

last night.”

“I wanted you to have it.”

A flower treasure.

Kept in a vase all week.

About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Gift of a Dead Rose- Attempt to Turn a Quick Write into a Poem

  1. newtreemom says:

    The words caught the sentiment. What a sweet gesture, and now the poem will preserve it.

  2. Yay! I’m so glad you tried it. Isn’t it a fun way to play with your writing? I love how this came together. Thanks for trying this out today!

Leave a Reply

