Recess Duty

The puddle at the end of the slide was as big and deep as a baby pool.  Small icebergs the size of lunch boxes floated invitingly.  Recess Duty.

The intercom shouted into our fraction lesson, “Construction tape has been placed around the swings and at the top of the sledding hill.”  “Even if you have appropriate boots, don’t play there.”  Recess duty.

Slipping a fluorescent yellow vest over my coat, I walked out the door.  I squinted into the bright sunshine and cautiously treaded onto an ice covered playground.  I smiled as I watched a colleague shoo four fifth grade girls, wearing shorts, in to find their pants.  A high of 50 degrees expected today.  Recess duty.

I saw a group of girls huddled around a friend who was crying.  I wondered if it was drama or a physical wound and went over to help.  “What happened girls?”  The teary girl pulled up her pant leg to reveal a scraped knee.  “Ouch, did you fall on the ice?”  She nodded.  Like a colony of ants they supported her into the office.  Recess duty.

I turned around just in time to see the pool at the bottom of the slide.  Where was the construction tape?  Before I could yell stop or slide out of the way on that slippery ice playground, a coated shape dove into the tunnel and SPLASH! Recess duty.

About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

