Memory Keeper

“What did you do for your daughter’s graduation party?” my physician asked towards the end of my appointment.  Our daughters had played field hockey together in high school until my daughter graduated.  His daughter will be graduating this spring.  I shared highlights of Maggie’s party and asked him what they were planning for Hannah.

“Well….I’ve been planning this for a while,” he said and launched into this amazing description.  He explained that they had a large family and everyone they invited would have known Hannah since she was a a baby.  He was planning to set up little scenes around the house displaying different stages of Hannah’s life.  He went on to describe how he had saved part of a Cinderella Halloween costume,  her favorite purple pajamas she, couldn’t bear to outgrow, and her first pair of shoes.  That wasn’t all.  He had saved art work, school projects, and her first books, Goodnight Little Bear and Pat the Bunny.  He finished with, and we’ll end with her field hockey stick and violin.  “Wow!”  I was thinking.  I had photos and that had seemed like quite a project to display.

As I began to walk out the door he asked, “Was it hard when she left?”  I was honest.  “I miss her like crazy.”  His eyes filled a little and he smiled.  I kept thinking all evening about the memories he had stored for the special graduation party he wanted for his daughter.  He has four children and this is the first to graduate.  He must constantly be saving.  I love knowing this gentle picture of my doctor.  A memory keeper.

 

About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memory Keeper

  1. Leigh Anne says:

    I can’t even imagine the work that will be out into that party. Graduations are hard. I have one graduating from college and one from high school this year. Not easy!

  2. elsie says:

    Now that’s a cool dad! What a special party they will have reliving all the events of her life.

Leave a Reply

