Found Poetry Today

I wrote a ” Found” poem this week while sitting at the airport.  I am participating in the Slice of Life challenge this month and I new it would be late when I arrived home, too late to write.  It was  a Yellowstone National Park brochure I noticed in my carry on bag that proved to be my inspiration.  I knew the subject of wildlife warnings would interest my third graders and my poem might encourage them to try  some Found poems of their own.

My slice inspired a fellow slicer and her third grade class to try a Found poem from a book they were reading.  How fun to share our poems!  I suggested that we email each other the  class poems to share with our students.

“Poetry Friday! ” the first student through the door declared.  I smiled to myself.  I wake up feeling the same way.  When everyone was assembled  I shared my “Wildlife Warning”poem and showed them the brochure I had worked from.  I read a few poems from Georgia Heard’s book, The Arrow Finds Its Mark: A Book of Found Poems. We looked at the poem the other third grade class had written and I showed them the book they had used for their poem.     

I pulled out the April lunch menus I had discovered in my mailbox and suggested we give it a try.  Here is our poem.

April Lunch Menu

 

Ice cold milk

Ultimate nachos

available daily

chicken nuggets

mashed potatoes

*Menu items contain pork

Spring Break — April 6-10

Cole’s garlic toast

Chef Zucchini makes

the best bean burrito

Grab and go tasty turkey

burger tidbits

Fresh nuts and green beans

Chili dog on a pancake

Diced grapes with dip

Fiesta For Fifty Cents

Ice cold milk

Check with the school cook for

Ordering details

 

There was a lot of joyful giggling and fun with this “found” poem!

About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Found Poetry Today

  1. newtreemom says:

    Giggling third graders are the best!

  2. Jaana says:

    Having fun while reading, writing and creating! What could be better?

  3. elsie says:

    Now their taste buds are ready for lunch in April. Nice job!

  4. jehansen13 says:

    What a fun way to write poetry and play with language!

  5. Amanda Regan says:

    What a fun activity! Thanks for sharing your class’s great poem!

Leave a Reply

