Habit or Inspiration?

Writing the date on my classroom whiteboard today, I paused… only two more days of slicing left.  It hit me how quickly March had flown by.  It wasn’t too many days ago that I had hit a slump looking for ideas and a panic trying to fit writing into some very busy days.

Now I have two slices left for SOL15 and well, I feel ecstatic that I have written everyday but I also find myself feeling a little sad.  I have grow into this habit of writing and thinking about writing.  I walk around paying a little closer attention to my world, noticing stories I could write, collecting poetry ideas to try.  Will I continue this practice now that March has disappeared?

I came across an article this evening which made me pause and realize that building a writing habit is up to me.  As much as I love the slicers I’ve met and those comments I have waiting to  read with my coffee in the morning,  the writing is mine, my job, up to me. The article mentioned that J. Patrick Lewis and Jane Yolen have been know to say that inspiration is overated-that success comes from the “BIC” rule (Butt In Chair).  Meaning you need to sit down and get writing.  There was also a quote from the the writer Olivia Butler who said, “Habit is more important than inspiration.”  “We write to find out what we don’t know.”

It seems to me that they are each right.  Just LOOK at all of us writing each day.  Forcing ourselves to squeeze in writing during our school lunch break, setting an alarm to get up earlier before work to write (knowing that’s the only way it will happen today).  There have also been a couple of nights when after 11:00 we pushed ourselves to beat the clock and raced to post before midnight.

Thank you to those who offered inspiration and shared clever ideas to spur us on, and also for all of the kind words you have shared.   You nudged me along.  It was fun!  Now, if as Olivia Butler says, “Habit is more important than inspiration,” well fellow slicers, we are on our way!  Thank you for inspiring me to build a habit!

About kdoele

I am a teacher who continues to learn from students kindergarten through seventh grade. Currently teaching seventh grade English and Reading/Writing Workshop, I am exploring what it is like to "begin" again... my one little word for 2017.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

